First Class Records against Surrey

All First Class Matches

Hampshire have played Surrey 180 times in the County Championship since 1895.
They have won 27, Lost 82, Drawn 69 and 2 were abandoned without a ball being bowled
Hampshire have also played Surrey 12 times in other First Class matches since 1864.
They won 3, Lost 7, Drawn 2

Hampshire Records against Surrey

Record DescriptionRecord
Highest Score648-7 at The Oval (2017)
Lowest Score32 at The Oval (1885)
Lowest in County Championship
48 at Guildford (1946)
Highest individual score221 TC Middleton at Southampton (1992)
Best Bowling (innings)8-85 CJ Knott at Portsmouth (1939)
Best Bowling (match)12-163 AR Wassell at Bournemouth (1961)
1st Wicket partnership267 VP Terry and TC Middleton at Southampton (1992)
2nd Wicket partnership180 RE Marshall and H Horton at The Oval (1961)
3rd Wicket partnership209 DR Turner and RMC Gilliat at The Oval (1969)
4th Wicket partnership160 CP Mead and WGLF Lowndes at The Oval (1934)
5th Wicket partnership167 GJ Bailey and SM Ervine at The Oval (2017)
6th Wicket partnership186 SM Ervine and R McLaren at The Oval (2016)
7th Wicket partnership165 AD Mascarenhas and N Pothas at The Oval (2008)
8th Wicket partnership123 AN Aymes and SJ Renshaw at Guildford (1997)
9th Wicket partnership230 DA Livingstone and AT Castell at Southampton (1962)
10th Wicket partnership96 LD McManus and BTJ Wheal at The Ageas Bowl (2016)

Surrey Records against Hampshire

Record DescriptionRecord
Highest Score742 at The Oval (1909)
Lowest Score64 at Basingstoke (1986)
Highest individual score276 EG Hayes at The Oval (1909)
Best Bowling (innings)9-31 WC Smith at The Oval (1904)
Best Bowling (match)15-155 T Richardson at The Oval (1895)
1st Wicket partnership379 R Abel and W Brockwell at The Oval (1897)
2nd Wicket partnership371 JB Hobbs and EG Hayes at The Oval (1909)
3rd Wicket partnership353 A Ducat and EG Hayes at Southampton (1919)
4th Wicket partnership238 HS Squires and JF Parker at Bournemouth (1948)
5th Wicket partnership195 N Shahid and AJ Hollioake at Southampton (1996)
6th Wicket partnership187 AD Brown and JN Batty at Southampton (1998)
7th Wicket partnership145 HT Barling and PGH Fender at Southampton (1933)
8th Wicket partnership222 BT Foakes and GJ Batty at The Ageas Bowl (2016)
9th Wicket partnership168 ERT Holmes and EWJ Brooks at The Oval (1936)
10th Wicket partnership119 EA Watts and JV Daley at Bournemouth (1936)

Matches at The Rose/Ageas Bowl

Hampshire have played Surrey 9 times in the County Championship since 2001.
They have won 1, Lost 5, Drawn 3

Hampshire Records against Surrey at The Rose/Ageas Bowl

Record DescriptionRecord
Highest Score436 (2019)
Lowest Score135 (2018)
Highest individual score159 JM Vince (2014)
Best Bowling (innings)5-25 FS Organ (2019)
Best Bowling (match)6-57 LA Dawson (2017)
1st Wicket partnership79 NC Johnson and JS Laney (2002)
2nd Wicket partnership96 MJ Brown and JHK Adams (2008)
3rd Wicket partnership133 MJ Brown and MJ Lumb (2008)
4th Wicket partnership129 SA Northeast and JM Vince (2019)
5th Wicket partnership102 AJA Wheater and SM Ervine (2016)
6th Wicket partnership48 NC Johnson and N Pothas (2002)
7th Wicket partnership116 LA Dawson and LD McManus (2019)
8th Wicket partnership71 LD McManus and GM Andrew (2016)
9th Wicket partnership99 N Pothas and DA Griffiths (2007)
10th Wicket partnership96 LD McManus and BTJ Wheal (2016)

Surrey Records against Hampshire at The Rose/Ageas Bowl

Record DescriptionRecord
Highest Score637-7 (2016)
Lowest Score151 (2019)
Highest individual score188 MR Ramprakash (2007)
Best Bowling (innings)6-36 Harbhajan Singh (2005)
Best Bowling (match)8-83 Harbhajan Singh (2005)
1st Wicket partnership208 RJ Burns and DP Sibley (2016)
2nd Wicket partnership197 IJ Ward and N Shahid (2002)
3rd Wicket partnership239 IJ Ward and GP Thorpe (2002)
4th Wicket partnership199 RJ Burns and BT Foakes (2018)
5th Wicket partnership158 BT Foakes and OJ Pope (2017)
6th Wicket partnership72 OJ Pope and R Clarke (2019)
7th Wicket partnership44 DJ Thornely and MP Bicknell (2005)
8th Wicket partnership222 BT Foakes and GJ Batty (2016)
9th Wicket partnership56 DJ Thornely and Harbhajan Singh (2005)
10th Wicket partnership57 Saqlain Mushtaq and TJ Murtagh (2002)